Hear what our clients have to say about the Dog Mentalist:

"I wanted to let you know how impressed we were with your positive training methods.  When my daughter came home after your first session, she did not recognize my 5 month old Labrador Retriever Lexi. she had changed so much.  The problem with her pulling me around the block has been solved.  Thank you, Bob."
-Cynthia Hergenroeder, Baltimore 

David P.
March 5, 2018
We had our first meeting with the Dog Mentalist. Our dog responded to him immediately. He gave us a lot of good information on a variety of subjects. He gave us advice on the issues our dog is having including behavior while walking on leash and trying to jump on me while I am sitting in our living room. We have begun following his advice and are seeing immediate improvement. We have our second session scheduled and are looking forward to it
Andrea R.
January 29, 2018
Bob had our 5 month old Boxer puppy doing more and behaving calmly within the first 1/2 hour of being in our home. By end of first session we were amazed. Don't waste your time or money at the training classes at the pet store! Even though Loki is not our first Boxer and not our first dog, he gave us a much better understanding as too the why of his behavior and showed us how we were actually enabling his chewing on Momma Can't wait until the next session
Jennifer G.
January 16, 2018
 I would certainly recommend Bob! He was very knowledgeable and professional. My dog warmed right up to him and responded well.
 Jenny M.
December 20, 2017
Ive had 1 of 4 puppy in home training sessions. Robert was on time, very enthusiastic with me and my French Bulldog Winnie. He was extremely knowledgeable and like me, believes in the reward system with clicker training. He captured Winnie's attention instantly. For me, visually watching his technique gave me the confidence to see what I am doing right and wrong. He provided me with literature and recommended books and hygiene suggestions. I would highly recommend Robert. Looking forward to our next session.

Bill W.
November 8, 2017
Bob came to us with lots of valuable insight as it related to being better and more informed parents. Our Golden is a work in progress.
Gigi B.
October 26, 2017
I was stunned. My dog immediately upon his arrival was so happy to meet with him and how responsive she was to his slightest movement (which actually was a command without a word or touch). I am truly stunned that his gentle positive training technique is not only effective for the pup but the training he provided for me was very enlightening and helpful. I'm looking forward to doing more with Mr Kessler.
John S.
June 26, 2017
Bob had my puppy of 13 weeks doing things I thought would take weeks in the first 15 minutes. I expect the hard part will be training me!

Thumbtack Customer
May 29, 2017
Anonymous Review
Mr. Kessler obviously has a great deal of experience with training dogs. Our puppy responded quite well to the positive reinforcement techniques he uses and we're happy to have engaged him to help in the training process. We're still a work in progress but received a good foundation on what to do and equally as important, what NOT to do.
Frank R.
May 16, 2017
We have a rare breed (Kishu Ken - Japanese Spitz) and were looking for trainer. I must say the sooner you start on training the better! We started at the age of 11 weeks. We hired Robert (Bob) and we (including our puppy) loved every training minute and could see results right away. We highly recommend Bob as a dog trainer and as a trusted advisor. We will hire him def. again in the future A+++
Stu G.
April 3, 2017
Bob Kessler was the perfect dog trainer for us.We learned a great deal about our Malteese and made real progress on his first visit.
Vicky R.
March 31, 2017
Bob and my Westie, Harry hit it right off. I found positive reinforcement through treats alot more comfortable for me as well as Harry. He responded well to commands and I am sure with repetition, on my part, Harry will excell. Thank you, Bob.
Diane M.
March 20, 2017
Dog training doesn't get any better than this. Robert Kessler had my puppy calm and obeying some commands in the first four minutes he entered my door. If you want to learn something to make your dog and yourself happy THIS IS YOUR GUY!!!
  • Pierre still relaxed

Pierre still relaxed

Pat P.
February 15, 2017
Bob Kessler was a very nice man to work with and my dogs loved him. He helped me when I brought in a new puppy by helping my dogs to get along and has remained in contact with me since then to see how they were doing together . He gave me tips on how to improve the acceptance of the new puppy by my older dog. This has been very helpful. He also started to train the new puppy to sit and play ball. He noticed that my puppy had a cough which I just thought was excitement and encouraged me to take it to the vet. The puppy had pneumonia and had I not taken her when I did she probably would not have survived. My other dog would not walk on a leash, but in just a short time he had her walking and sitting and staying . My dogs got very excited when Bob came into the house because they loved to train. He did a great job in a short time. I would encourage anyone to use Bob Kessler to train their dogs . He doesn't forget about you when the sessions are over but remains in contact to help answer questions. I was very please with his services and intend to use him again for additional training for my dogs.
Michael P.
February 15, 2017
So far so good. We had an excellent first session and looking forward to more progress in the weeks to come!
Kyle J.
February 14, 2017
Bob is incredibly informative and his love and knowledge of dogs is contagious. We are still in the middle of our series of training with Bob for our miniature Aussie shepherd, who is deaf. Unknowingly we were reinforcing some negative behavior and this was critical that it was redirected. Very happy
Judith R.
January 25, 2017
Bob is an excellent trainer. My one year old Maltipoo had some barking and socializing issues, and he showed me how I was actually rewarding her negative behaviors. After two sessions, Pepper and I have measurably improved, and I've added two more sessions to build on her already better behavior. Well worth the time and money to have a well- behaved dog. Judy R.
Bev F.
January 25, 2017
Very pleased. Everything is positive. His love for dogs and his knowledge shows in his training. He gives advice in every area of owning your dog i.e. Food, exercise, toys, puzzles, grooming, books to read. We've had previous dogs trained but never in such a positive manner with so much helpful information.
Marguerite O.
January 25, 2017
Bob is a magician with dogs. He befriended my rescue dog very quickly and won her trust. This was a very timid dog who only liked me. Now she loves Bob and is more trusting with strangers. He also really helped me understand my pom puppy; how to get her attention, socialize her and calm her down. He was a pleasure to work with.
Moises S.
January 24, 2017
It was a pleasure having Mr.Kessler train our German shepherd puppy. You can tell he truly has a passion for dogs and bettering their relationship with their owners. In our first session, our pup has shown much better focus, along with an obvious desire to want to be trained. Our family appreciates Mr.Kessler coming out and training Zeus as we were having difficulties doing so on our own. Looking forward to our next session!

Lisa Q.
January 24, 2017
Terrific results! You were terrific!
Eleanor M.
January 21, 2017
He took time to get to know our puppies and gave us a lot of information to help us train them
 GAILE J.
January 19, 2017
I am happy to say that Bob successfully "trained" both my husband and I to work with our overly exuberant Cocker Spaniel using a fun and purely positive approach. Thank you!
Wendy M.
November 19, 2016
I was impressed from the beginning of Robert's visit to the end. He is very nice and easy to talk to. He made great strides with Beckie even the end of the visit was amazing! He taught her to jump up on the couch! Beckie was a breeding dog for a puppy mill. She lived her entire life in a cage. Robert was able to train e her to walk on the floor. That was the first time we had seen her actually move from whatever spot she was put on. But at the end of the visit her jumping was worth every penny we paid!!!
Megan D.
October 18, 2016
I knew a bit about the principles he uses, but I also knew that I wasn't using them correctly. Bob helped me see what I needed to correct in order to be a positive leader for my dog, and get the most out of the time spent training her. He also pointed out the ways I was (unknowingly) rewarding the unwanted behavior. Thanks Bob! Now I can more effectively work with my pup.
Gabriel V.
October 3, 2016
I appreciated Bob's approach to our dog and the explanations he provided for his purely positive approach. With the little time we spent I've learned a great deal about dogs, and how to approach training my dog better. I look forwards to future sessions with Bob and learning as much as I can about training my dog - so that I can pass the knowledge on and use it throughout my life.
Jason H.
September 19, 2016
Bob is fantastic. He has great knowledge and it shows the minute he starts training. Bob will give you the tools you need to help your dog as well as enrich your dogs life. Thanks Bob!
Victoria V.
August 20, 2016
Excellent job!!! He really helped us understanding the training process
Kristen F.
August 5, 2016
Robert is terrific! With no prior dog experience he was able to give my wife and I a feeling of control of our 2 puppies in the first session. Our dogs also made a new best friend within minutes. It's wonderful to know that dogs can be trained with positive feedback and encouragement and not have to raise a voice or demean them in any way. Wish I knew these things raising my kids. Doug Freeley, MD
Carla W.
July 7, 2016
I had Bob come into my house to help train my dog basic obedience. Right away my 10 month old puppy took right to him as he started training as soon as he walked in the door. My dog really responded to the positive training and I am continuing to work with my puppy on my own. Bob is very knowledgeable in dog training.
Patrice D.
June 28, 2016
Bob came to our home twice, once for two hours and the second time for one hour. Both my husband and I are so impressed with Bob's ability to understand the dynamics of both our 8 lb rescue poodles. Murphy has been with us for five years and has his quirks but does ok. Bailey, on the other hand, joined our family in February, '16. She came from a puppy mill, used as a "breeder" and was given no love or comfort. She's afraid of everything and simply shuts down. Bob was able to move her from being terrified of my husband to actually being able to sit on his lap! We couldn't believe it! Bob shared his perception of Bailey and shared his recommendations. We are very grateful indeed! He also sent us a detailed summary of our first two hour visit which is very handy as I look at it to refresh my memory! At this point we have a long way to go with Bailey but we now have the tools necessary to assist us. Thanks for helping us help Bailey become a happy and balanced pup! We'll be in touch again....
Jeff P.
June 12, 2016
When Bob arrived at my home, he had me vent all my negativity(mostly sports related to his former hometown).He began immediately training my 4 month old Yellow Lab, while we were discussing my dog's behaviors. His positive training techniques ran the gamut of indoor and outdoor behavior. Bob is a wealth of knowledge and I would encourage pet owners to be flexible and keep an open mind about his suggestions.I only have one final question for Bob, "Whose dog did you leave here"? This one is completely different from the one I introduced to you! Thank you so much!
Linda M.
June 7, 2016
Bob is a great guy. Very positive first step for us.
Krystal S.
June 5, 2016
We have a 6yr old pitbull that is very timid. For our first visit from Mr. Kesler she reacted how she would any stranger but after an hr she started to trust him and become calmer. It takes work but any good work takes time. He gave us good background information and a little about himself. We felt confident in his ways and are willing to continue until we no longer need his help. If you are a type of person that wants a quick fix, and are not into work then you shouldn't have gotten a dog, or you can give in and have an open mind and be willing to work, with the help from this man. I highly recommend.
Allison P.
June 1, 2016
Bob came over and gave a great opening, getting our husky Cody to settle while he introduced his enrichment style of training which is different than traditional training methods. Bob had no problem pouring out his extensive knowledge in one session, notably some tips from dog training conferences he goes to and books he reads. He's up to date in the world of dog training, but also knows the history of training and how we, as dog owners, need to let go of certain negative training practices. Our husky responded to Bob's leadership immediately. We wanted Bob to help us with our dog's resource guarding behavior towards other dogs, how to walk on a lead and respond to us as the leaders. Bob showed us the ropes and gave us the knowledge and advice that we need to enrich our relationship with our husky and still get the training results we want. He brought up well researched alternatives for our dog activities that we would've never thought to do. He also pointed out behaviors of our dog that we didn't notice, such as disguised anxiety signals and how to resolve them. OVERALL, WE THINK BOB IS AWESOME AND WE'RE SO THANKFUL FOR HOW CHEAP HIS RATE IS!!! Absolutely worth it.
Robin C.
May 27, 2016
Bob is helping us in training our dog who is a rescue. Our dog is very timid, (seems like he was abused previously). Bob has been very patient and has made strides in the behavior of our new family member. He explains what/why he, (Bob) is doing. Bob knows his profession and we are happy with him.
Cynthia T.
May 5, 2016
Bob helped me train a 9 mo. old Boston Terrier. We worked on the basics and I saw many great changes in things I never thought he'd do! WOW
Cindy C.
May 3, 2016
Bob Knows his business!! If you listen to him your dog will train very easy.
Lori D.
May 3, 2016
Bob taught my dog to lay down within 15 minutes of meeting him!
Sherri M.
April 28, 2016
Really happy with the training session and very knowledgeable and love the positive training
Lillian T.
April 11, 2016
I can honestly say that the training experience was awesome. Mr. Kessler was very patient with me, as most of training my dog was about training me. My dog was very receptive to the training as well. I learned a great deal from the experience and will recommend Mr. Kessler in the future.
John S.
April 2, 2016
Bob has been the absolute best. He is always positive and works well with both your dog and you to get the best positive results. Our dog learned how to heel, walk on a long lead, in and out of the car, drop things, retrieve all through positive reinforcement. We couldn't be happier with the results.
Debby B.
March 21, 2016
Mr. Kessler educated me on the positive approach to training my puppy. His knowledge of Behavioral therapies and psychology was very informative. At the same time, he had my wild Boston Terrier puppy sitting within the first 20 minute!. I was amazed! He also gave me homework to work on with my pup. Mr Kessler also followed-up to see how I was doing with my training. He was awesome!
Elizabeth S.
March 21, 2016
Teach my dog to be a better dog citizen, especially on leash. Bob is knowledgeable, patient and Brody got along well with him! And the lesson stuck with him......the afternoon walk was calm and loose leash and again this morning! Hopefully next weeks lesson with go as well.
Gary R.
March 7, 2016
In only two sessions,Bob Kessler has made amazing progress with our very active 5 month old puppy and has been able to effectively communicate the methods and processes to reinforce the training to us. We are very happy with the progress and will continue to use his services as we work to have our dog retain her personality but learn to behave in a socially acceptable manner as she grows into an adult. We are also very impressed with the positive approach to dog training used and taught by Bob.
Sheryl V.
February 23, 2016
I thought my dog was a lost cause. Robert had my dog doing in minutes, what I've been trying to get my pup to do in years.
Kelly S.
February 23, 2016
Bob was great! Very informative & interesting. He was able to teach our 6 month old puppy how to sit & down within the 1st 15 minutes of arriving! It was amazing! Our puppy was so anxious to continue "working" for Bob the entire visit! All I can say is WOW!
Richard M.
February 22, 2016
One week after our first training session, huge differences in our two unruly dogs behaviors are noticeable. Both are near perfect walking on their leashes, rough horseplay has been almost completely been eliminated, both dogs stay off our furniture, and all around seem to be more relaxed and content. One dog has had aggressive tendencies towards guests in the past, and it appears that there has been a huge improvement in that area as well. I'm very impressed with the changes I've seen in such a short period of time. We will certainly continue to work with Bob to ensure our dogs are happy and well behaved.
Jerry M.
February 19, 2016
Robert is great and had our dog minding in less than 15 minutes. looking foreward to our next session. Great Job!
Linda C.
February 11, 2016
I was amazed Bob got him to start laying down. And not jumping on chairs when we sat down. Still struggling with the jumping on me and biting.
Valerie B.
February 8, 2016
Bob is truly amazing. Cooper's first session was awesome a mouth opening experience. Cooper a 4 month old English Springer Spaniel took to Bob immediately. Laid right by he's feet an sat for him did puppy push ups an downs within mintues of him being there. It was truly amazing how he kept this puppy focus on training. Bob educates you as well as he's student. Cooper's next session is later this week.
Dara E.
February 1, 2016
Robert is fantastic to work with! He truly knows dog behavior and is all about positive reinforcement. Within an hour, my dogs were already sitting and laying down on command. He also taught them not to nibble. He is truly a great trainer.
Joy P.
January 31, 2016
I can honestly not express how impressed we were with Mr. Kessler and his training. We were at the end of our rope with our two rescue dogs and their behaviors. Within minutes of entering our home, we were given valuable insight to why the dogs were acting the way they were. After the very first lesson, we were able to use his teachings and our newest rescue now sits on command. Something we honestly thought would be impossible. He was also able to tell us that all our good intentions were not helping our dogs but we were actually making things worse. It will be a very long road (each dog came with quite a bit of baggage) but I am very optimistic that with a lot of work and the great training provided by Mr. Kessler, we will have happy, confident, healthy (and obedient!!) dogs. I highly recommend Purely Positive Dog Training.
Joe H.
January 25, 2016
We have two puggles that are craazzzyyy. As soon as Bob entered the house, he was training my dogs. The experience and knowledge that Bob brings to his lessons is definitely worth the money. He was up front, honest and courteous to my family and my animals. Needless to say, he will be back next Saturday for further training.
Casper H.
January 12, 2016
Very interesting and forward method of teaching. My dog responded phenomenally.
Patricia D.
January 6, 2016
Magical! We have a shy, fearful white shepherd and, after one session, we saw noticeable improvement.
Anja S.
January 6, 2016
Bob has very good Knowledge in positive dog Training. He showed us good techniques to train our dog. We arme looking forward to our next lesson! Anja from Germany. Many thanks !!
Richard G.
January 5, 2016
Bob was able to get our active Golden Retriever Odie to lay calmly and not jump or demand attention within just a few minutes. I cannot wait to see everything this wonderful dog can accomplish.
Angel A.
December 15, 2015
Robert made me and my family feel comfortable around my dog before Robert came my dog would buy everything and he wouldn't listen, he even bit most of us. After Robert came now my dog listens and I know how to get him to do what I want him to do. I was planning on taking my dog back to the pound but after Roberts visit he proved me my dog is a great dog with just a couple problems that could be solve. So now I have Robert coming in again next week . That's how good he is to me .
Brandi B.
December 13, 2015
Bob is extremely knowledgeable about how to positively train dogs. He showed us some great techniques to train our 5mo old puppy. We look forward to continuing to work with him.
Ruth B.
December 12, 2015
Bob was extremely proficient and gregarious. His vast knowledge is evident in his technique. Our dog was very reactive to him but he was cool, calm, and collected. He took the time to explain everything and gave us tons of references to materials to reinforce his teachings, which I liked because it's good to have some material to read over so that you don't forget. Since it was mentioned in another review, I will state that he was very up front about the cost with us. We were very satisfied with his service and instructions. We plan to have him back.
Jean M.
December 8, 2015
very pleasant to work with him, He obviously enjoy his work and has an excellent knowledge, As soon as he left we already noticed a significant improvement with our dog's behavior ( I suspect that it is because we changed our approach more than the dog! ) I realize that we did almost everything wrong and he helped us with this. I highly recommend Robert to any serious go owner .
Lara S.
December 2, 2015
Oh my god!! What an amazing experience! I have 3 rescue dogs and all have different behavioral issues (barking, jumping, demanding behavior, growling) Bob was able to explain to us why the dogs behaved the way they did and gave us wonderful techniques on how to correct them. Our dogs ruled the household and Bob is helping us to take back our leadership role. This was our visit with him and we can already see a difference. We are looking forward to working him more and highly recommend him, he is a very skilled trainer.
Michael D.
November 25, 2015
Wonderful care for three days, of a very sensitive Chihuahua. Nikki and Buddy became best friends.
Jeanette M.
November 21, 2015
We had a purely positive experience with Bob Kessler and his positive method of dog training. My dog learned to not jump at every meeting with a person. I had been told by a previous trainer to not even try to stop her jumping because of her breed...part Poodle part Bijon. Bob had Jessie stop jumping at the first visit. Inside of three visits, she is walking without pulling and staying until she's released.
Maria D.
November 10, 2015
Had our chihuahua obeying 2 commands on first visit !
Cindy S.
November 6, 2015
Robert Kessler was most helpful! I would highly recommend him!
Josephine P.
October 21, 2015
Positive experience
Katie M.
October 1, 2015
Our first session this afternoon went very well, and I got lots of good advice from Bob. I am confident that my pups will be well and kindly trained.
Kathy R.
September 23, 2015
After just one meeting with Bob, we have a new dog! He really knows his stuff and you can tell he loves what he does. We truly felt like he was there to help, not to sell his service. I would highly recommend him!
Linda H.
September 22, 2015
Very shocked that Bob was able to get Lexie to stop barking in the first session. Looking forward to our next session. Very pleased. Highly recommend Bob Kessler to anyone who needs a dog trainer.
Diane T.
September 9, 2015
Bob had our Bella, a rescue mix of pointer and lab, responding to his positive cues very quickly. We are anxious to implement this training. It was really wonderful to see Bella respond so quickly and to change to very interested and excited to learn! Thank you, Bob!
Terri W.
August 28, 2015
Today was the first day of training for Zazu our German Shepherd and Bob was very patient with us and Zazu, I learned a lot in our first session, I also believe Bob will help us make Zazu a better dog
Peter F.
August 15, 2015
Had our first session with Bob and made much more headway than we had hoped for. He was great with our dogs and pointed out things my boyfriend and I weren't able to pick up on as far as body language. Overall great experience and am looking forward to implement what we have learned and have him back soon. He was great with our pitties!! Highly recommend him!
Sarah R.
July 10, 2015
(Offsite Review)
Our dog was always so happy and excited to see Bob. We enjoyed working with him too. He is a knowledgeable trainer who really cared about our dog and helping us strengthen and expand our dogs skills as well as our own.
Kenneth L.
July 9, 2015
(Offsite Review)
I learned more in one lesson from you then I learned in 4 lessons from my previous trainer.
Catherine F.
July 9, 2015
(Offsite Review)
"Wow, Bob is amazing!! He transformed my 6 month old Lab, Katie in the first hour of our home visit. He virtually saved the life of my 8 year old Bassett Hound Daisy, by teaching me his positive technique to get Katie to stop tormenting Daisey with her constant play. His positive leadership and reward system has taught me how to keep the focus of my dogs. My dogs loved training with him and we all have a happier and healthy relationship."
Sarah F.
July 9, 2015
(Offsite Review)
Simply a worth while investment. The best!!
David K.
July 6, 2015
(Offsite Review)
Bob understands dogs. But more importantly, he understands dog owners. He is well read and knowledgable regarding all methods and practices of dog training. He creates a positive relationship with dog and is amazing in ability to get results quickly. He is hands on and if you listen to his instruction, you will not be disappointed!!! purelypositivedogtraining.com

"Wow,  Bob is amazing!!  He transformed my 6 month old Lab, Katie in the first hour of our home visit.  He virtually saved the life of my 8 year old Bassett Hound Daisy, by teaching me his positive technique to get Katie to stop tormenting Daisey with her constant play.  His positive leadership and reward system has taught me how to keep the focus of my dogs.  My dogs loved training with him and we all have a happier and healthy relationship."
-Catherine Flynn, Baltimore

I love the patience and compassion shown by Bob to my  dog and me.  Our German Shepherd X-ray responded to him immediately.  His shyness was replaced with confidence and now he will play and respond positively with other dogs.  Positive leadership paid rewards to our dog and continues to pay dividends to us.
-Kenneth Lippman, MD

"We love Bob's positive methods of teaching. He gave us so many techniques to train my adopted American Staffordshire Terrier, Evie. He helped us with behavioral issues and aggression and taught her several tricks in a matter of minutes. He's a true master. Through his training we have used his techniques to train my son's American Pit Bull Terrier"
- Linda & Steve Blane Pikesville, Maryland